Climate Adaptation Engineering

Climate Adaptation Engineering

Climate Adaptation Engineering for cities and coasts

Scientific Committee

Xiaoming WangProfessor Xiaoming Wang is a Senior Principal Scientist of Climate Adaptation in CSIRO Climate Adaptation Flagship, and currently the leader of the Sustainable Cities and Coasts Theme. He has extensive experiences working on climate impact and adaptation related projects of national significance. He pioneered the research in Climate Adaptation Engineering that integrates climate science and develops engineering solutions in response to climate change, including many publications ranging from construction material/structure performance, to building energy and indoor environment as well as public health under changing climate.



Mark StewartProfessor Mark Stewart is an Australian Professorial Fellow, Professor of Civil Engineering, and Director of the Centre for Infrastructure Performance and Reliability at The University of Newcastle in Australia. He has more than 25 years of experience in probabilistic risk and vulnerability assessment of infrastructure systems that are subject to man-made and natural hazards. Professor Stewart is leader of the $3.5 million Climate Adaptation Engineering for Extreme Events (CAEx) Cluster funded by the CSIRO. The CAEx Cluster brings together leading researchers from Australia to assess impact risks of climate change on built infrastructure, and recommend cost-efficient climate adaptation measures.


Kevin E LanseyProfessor Kevin E. Lansey
is a Professor in the Department of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics and an adjunct faculty in the Department of Hydrology and Water Resources at the University of Arizona. Dr. Lansey has conducted research on a range of water resources problems with emphasis on water distribution and systems analysis. This work has resulted in over 100 publications and based on his contributions he was awarded the ASCE Huber Civil Engineering Research Prize for Young Researchers in 2002. For five years, he served as Associate Editor for the ASCE Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management including working as co-editor on the special issue on Water Distribution Systems. Dr. Lansey has been recognized with three teaching awards.


Michael NolanMichael Nolan, Global Technical Leader – Climate Adaptation, AECOM. Michael has 19 years experience managing sustainability and climate change outcomes for business and government.  Michael has led over 100 climate change impact, risk assessment and adaptation projects relating to local government, power, mining, ports, water, road, rail, buildings, facilities, coasts, states and cities in Australia, USA, China, India and New Zealand. Michael has represented the Australian Green Infrastructure Council in developing an Australian Standard for Climate Change Adaptation for Settlements and Infrastructure. Michael led several climate adaptation economic and cost benefit analysis projects including the climate impacts to infrastructure in Australia as a key input for the Garnaut Climate Change Review and the Port Phillip Bay Climate Adaptation Pathways project.


Sandra SchusterDr Sandra Schuster-Jones is a Disaster and Climate Risk Analyst/Specialist with a background in Climatology; Meteorology; Physical Geography and Physics with sixteen years professional work in the public and private sector, both in Australia and internationally. Dr Schuster is a Lead Author with the IPCC, in the Impacts Adaptation-Vulnerability Working Group; a member of the CSIRO Climate Adaptation Flagship Stakeholder Advisory Group, the Australian Resilience Taskforce – Building Resilience Rating Tool (BRRT) Expert Advisory Group, the State Lead Governor of World Wildlife Fund in New South Wales; and Past Chair and current Member on the Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society.

Comments are closed.


Fast Facts

Where: Melbourne, Australia
Venue: Hotel Windsor
When: 29-31 October 2013
Deadline for abstracts: 7 July 2013

Key dates:

Call for abstracts: 1 January 2013
Registration opens: 1 March 2013
Extension to deadline for abstracts: 7 July 2013

Acceptance of presentation: 31 July 2013
Early bird registration ends: 9 September 2013
Conference: 29-31 October 2013


For further details please contact Celia Torres-Villanueva at