29 August 2023, Sofitel Brisbane Central

9.00am to 5.00pm AEST
Networking Reception: 5.00pm to 6.00pm AEST

Program of proceedings


Guest arrival, check-in, coffee and tea


Master of Ceremonies 
Gail Ker OAM, Office of the Logan Coordinator; Special Advisor, Settlement and Community Capacity Building, Social Policy Group
Ballroom Le Grande


Welcome to Country
Ballroom Le Grande


Event Welcome
Professor Elanor Huntington, Executive Director of Digital, National Facilities & Collections, CSIRO
Ballroom Le Grande


Keynote Speaker
Dr Christian Bason, Chief Executive, Danish Design Center
Ballroom Le Grande


Overview of mission-oriented innovation
Dr Alex Cooke, Director, Strategic Delivery Group, CSIRO
Ballroom Le Grande


Morning tea


Solving Australia’s challenges through mission-oriented innovation (Part 1)


A Healthy Nation
Ballroom 1

Moderator: Janine Walker AM, Chair, Metro South Health


Professor Daphne Flynn, Director Design Health Collab, Co-Lead Future Healthcare, Monash University

Dr Krispin Hajkowicz, Director- Infectious Diseases Unit, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital

Dr Branwen Morgan, Mission Lead, Minimising Antimicrobial Resistance Mission, CSIRO

Professor Trent Munro, Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology, University of Queensland

Creating New Industries
Ballroom 2

Moderator: Anna-Maria Arabia, Chief Executive, Australian Academy of Science


Dr Adam Best, Mission Lead, Renewable Energy Powerhouse Mission, CSIRO

Dr Nicole Garofano, Head of Circular Economy Development, Planet Ark Environmental Foundation

Michele Graham, General Manager- Quantum Branch, Australian Department of Industry, Science and Resources

Dr Crispin Howitt, Mission Lead, Future Protein Mission, CSIRO


Australia’s Energy Transition  
Ballroom 3

Moderator: Emeritus Professor Roy Green, Special Innovation Advisor, University of Technology Sydney


Brenton Caffin, Executive Director Strategy and Policy, Department of Premier and Cabinet (South Australia)

Dr Stephen Craig, Mission Lead, Smart Energy Mission, CSIRO

Tara Gardiner, Executive Director- Energy Supply and Storage, Department of Energy and Public Works (Queensland)

Dr Patrick Hartley, Mission Lead, Hydrogen Industry Mission, CSIRO




Solving Australia’s challenges through mission-oriented innovation (Part 2)


Securing Australia’s Environment
Ballroom 1

Moderator: Professor Jenny Seddon, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, James Cook University


Dr Michele Akeroyd, Deputy Mission Lead, Drought Resilience Mission, CSIRO

Dr Bronwyn Evans AM, Chair- Expert Panel, NSW Bushfire Response R&D Mission

Dr Alex Held, Mission Lead, AquaWatch CSIRO

Mark Lamb, Chief Executive Officer, Murray Darling Association

Innovation in Food and Agriculture
Ballroom 2

Moderator: Steve Greenwood, Chief Executive Officer, Queensland Futures Institute


Dr Ryan McAllister, Mission Lead, Trusted AgriFood Export Mission, CSIRO

Nicole McNaughton, Chief Executive Officer, Food & Agribusiness Network

Dr Rohan Nelson, Agricultural and Natural Resource Economist, ABARES



Designing New Missions                         
Ballroom 3 

Moderator: Sam Buculo, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Design Council


Dr Michael Battaglia, Mission Lead, Towards Net Zero Mission, CSIRO

Professor Dan Hill, Director, Melbourne School of Design

Professor Swee Mak, Associate Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research & Innovation Capability), RMIT University

Amelia Olsen-Boyd, Executive Manager, Mission Strategy and Design, CSIRO


Transition to next session 


Driving greater national coordination and collaboration


International Collaboration
Ballroom 1

Moderator: Ryan Winn, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Council of Learned Academies 


Professor Amro M. Farid, Alexander Crombie Humphreys Chair Professor in Economics of Engineering, Stevens Institute of Technology, Visiting Professor at MIT

Professor Stephen MacDonnell, Deputy Director, New Zealand Science for Technological Innovation, National Science Challenge

Peta Olesen, Director International Climate and Energy, Australian Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water

Andrea Sosa Pintos, Senior Program Manager, Indo-Pacific Plastics Innovation Network, CSIRO

Co-design and Co-delivery
Ballroom 2

Moderator: Adam Stingemore, General Manager, Engagement and Communications, Standards Australia


Alex Blauensteiner, Critical Infrastructure Protection and Resilience Mission, CSIRO

Associate Professor Matthew French, Director Research Missions and Global Impact, Monash University

Chris Locke, Deputy Secretary- Biosecurity and Compliance, Australian Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Dr Cathy Robinson, Principal Research Scientist, CSIRO




Industry and Community Partnerships​​​​​​​
Ballroom 3

Moderator: Dr Jill Freyne
Deputy Chief Scientist, CSIRO


Dr Peter Binks, Vice-President (Industry and External Engagement), Griffith University

Heidi Hauf, Regional Sustainability Lead
Boeing Australia, New Zealand and South Pacific

Duncan Kerslake PSM, Project Manager, Deadly Innovation, Department of Tourism, Innovation and Sport (Queensland)

Scott Riddle, AU/NZ Partnerships Manager and Lead on Digital Future Initiative Partnership Program, Google

Cr Linda Scott, President, Australian Local Government Association



Afternoon tea 


Aligning the Innovation ecosystem
Ballroom Le Grande

Moderator: Associate Professor Cori Stewart, Chief Executive Officer, Advanced Robotics for Manufacturing Hub

Dom English, First Assistant Secretary- Research, Australian Department of Education

Anthony Murfett, Head of Division- Technology and Digital, Australian Department of Industry, Science and Resources

Jane O’Dwyer, Chief Executive Officer, Cooperative Research Australia

Professor Alex Robson, Deputy Chair, Productivity Commission


Closing Keynote Speaker
Ballroom Le Grande

Julia Spicer OAM, Queensland Chief Entrepreneur 


Vote of thanks and final remarks
Ballroom Le Grande

Dr Peter Mayfield, Executive Director- Environment, Energy and Resources, CSIRO


Networking reception
Ann Street Lobby (Foyer outside of Ballroom Le Grande)


Event close