Workshop booklet: IWSSD 2018 booklet including detailed program, abstracts and site information – hard copy will be provided upon registration.

Printable pdf timetable: Timetable for IWSSD 2018 (Please note this timetable may be subject to minor change).

Presentation Information:

Plenary: 45 mins (40 mins plus 5 mins questions)

Invited Oral: 25 mins (20 mins plus 5 mins questions)

Oral: 15 mins (12 mins plus 3 mins questions)

Poster presentation: A0 size portrait orientation and main body content (below the title, authors and affiliation) split into two columns. Please highlight the presenter’s name using the “bold” font.

Topics are:

  1. SQUIDs, SQIFs and SQUID Applications
  2. Superconducting Photon Detectors, e.g. SSPD, TES, STJ
  3. Superconducting Device Fabrication/Processing/Scale-up/Material Properties
  4. SC Electronics for Microwave, THz and Communications
  5. Digital Electronics
  6. Cryogenics, Packaging, Implementation and Commercialization
  7. Quantum Information Processing and Quantum Engineering
  8. Other Novel Devices and Applications


Event Date
Conference 24th – 27th July
IEC – IEEE Standardization session 24th July
Conference welcome reception 24th July (Tue evening)
Exhibition 25th July
Conference dinner (Harbour cruise) 26th July (Thur evening)



Prof. Robert Hadfield, Head of Division of Electronic and Nanoscale Engineering, School of Engineering, University of Glasgow, U.K.

Prof. Akira Fujimaki, Quantum Engineering, Nagoya University, Japan

Dr. Robert Romanofsky, NASA Glenn Research Center, USA.

Dr. Jan Herrmann, General Manager, Physical Metrology, National Measurement Institute, Australia.

Invited speakers:

Dr. Ronny Stolz, IPHT-Jena, Germany

Prof. Lixing You, SIMIT, China

Prof. Jian Chen, Nanjing, China

Prof. Tim Duty, University of New South Wales, Australia

Prof. Dag Winkler, Chalmers, Sweden

Prof. Yong-Hamb Kim, Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science, Korea

Prof. Huabing Wang, Nanjing University, China

Dr. Shane Keenan, CSIRO, Australia

Dr. Jia Du, CSIRO, Australia

Dr. Hiroyuki Shibata, Kitami Institute of Technology, Japan

Dr. Emma Mitchell, CSIRO, Australia

Dr. Bob Fagaly, Honeywell Inc., USA

Dr. Paul Sowman, Macquarie University, Australia

Key dates

Conference 24th – 27th July 2018
IEC – IEEE Standardization session 24th July 2018
Abstract submissions open Early December 2017
Abstract submissions close 15th March 2018
Notification of abstract acceptance 16th April 2018
Early bird registration 16th May 2018
Final registration 16th June 2018